Questions and Answers

Questions and Answers!

Hi folks, here are a few of the questions I’ve been asked about the game so far and my answers, as well as any applicable references I have decided to include. Many of these get a bit technical, especially if you read up on the links. If you have ANY questions at all please let me know and I’ll be happy to answer them.

General Question: What Races are allowed?
Answer: Human, Elf, Drow, Gnome, Halfling, Dwarf, Half-Elf, Half-Orc, Half-Giant, Killoren, Kobold, Orc, Goblin, Yuanti Pureblood, War Forged, and pretty much any of the elemental subraces found in “Unearthed Arcana”. I’ll update this list as more Races get added.

General Question: What Classes are allowed?
This… is a long list. Archivist, Artificer, Barbarian, Bard, Beguiler, Binder, Cleric, Dragon Shaman, Dread Necromancer, Druid, Duskblade, Factotum, Favored Soul, Fighter, Healer, Hexblade, Incarnate, Knight, Marshal, Monk, Ninja, Paladin, Psion, Psychic Warrior, Ranger, Rogue, Samurai, Scout, Shadowcaster, Shugenja, Sorcerer, Soulborn, Soulknife, Spellthief, Spirit Shaman, Swashbuckler, Totemist, Truenamer, Warblade, Warlock, Warmage, Wilder, Wizard, Wu Jen. Also included are any of the variants listed in “Unearthed Arcana”, “Dungeonscape”, and any of the other books I own.

Wizneber asks:
Q. Divine Meta Magic – Do I need to have the higher spell slot available or just the turn attempts?
A. Just the turn attempts. You are channeling the turn energy to boost the spell instead of sacrificing the slot. The slot doesn’t even have to exist for you yet, provided your stats are high enough to allow casting a spell of the adjusted level. Ref: http://dndtools.eu/feats/complete-divine—56/divine-metamagic—660/

Wizneber asks:
Q. Will the feat Invisible Spell be available?
A. Every fiber of my being wants to scream “NONONONONO!” whenever I consider you (of all players) using this feat. Go ahead, I’m interested to see just how broken this feat actually is (supposedly most DMs ban it) and I know you won’t disappoint. Ref: http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=259826

Wizneber asks:
Q. Will I be able to take the feat Persistent Spell?
A. Yes. Just don’t use it with “Time Stop” or I’ll have to get a stick to hit you with. Ref: http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=164174

Wizneber asks:
Q. Will I have access to the feat Extraordinary Spell Aim?
A. Yes. HOWEVER… I’m not stupid. I see how well this pairs with lots of things. The way the feat is worded sucks. Keep in mind that if you pull some shenanigans like coupling this feat with “Anti-Magic Field” that anything that passes through the field loses all of it’s magic, permanently, unless it’s an item that is enchanted and not simply an item that is thrown, hurled, fired, shot, or launched by an enchanted item. Magical arrows fired through the field would become nonmagical arrows, even after they exit the field. In my view the magical boost that the arrow is given is not a continuously refreshing effect but is one that stays with the item until discharged. Now, with all that being said, it would still rock out unbelievably well if you went in sword and boarding while acting as a nigh impervious tank that JUST SO HAPPENED to be surrounded completely by a ring of anti-magic. That use is totally fine. I feel that Anti-Magic Field (in general) should completely stop any line based attacks such as Lightning Bolt from the point in which they enter the field. The whole concept of a line based attack is that the attack starts at point A and travels to point B in a straight line. Using that logic the field should kill all of the bolt that extends past the point in which the bolt touches the field, regardless of the bolts’ range. That bit actually works out to your benefit. You may want to read up on this link, as this is generally how I interpret it to function (except as noted above). Ref: http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263663

Wizneber asks:
Q. Will Craft Contingent Spell be available?
A. Yes. HOWEVER… I have to approve the spell and trigger combination. As a general guideline the trigger needs to be something that could also trigger a readied action, so it can’t rely on you saying something. It can trigger from things that you cannot sense. It cannot trigger based on alignment, thoughts, emotions, intent. The spell and feat cannot perceive or sense anything, it simply reacts to what is factual. Ref: http://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/27901/what-are-the-contingency-spells-limits-in-dd-3-5e

Wizneber asks:
Q. Will nightsticks be available and if so will they be stackable?
A. They are available and they do not stack. Allowing them to stack is technically correct but is just silly, given that there isn’t anything stopping you from carrying like 30 of the damn things. Ref: Common sense, also just about any site where the discussion pops up

Wizneber asks:
Q. What are the rules for half-giant?
A. (UPDATED) Half-Giant is in the expanded psionics book for 3.5, and the stats listed there are the ones I use for my games. The stats are the same as http://www.d20srd.org/srd/psionic/monsters/halfGiant.htm .

Wizneber asks:
Q. Is it ok to apply the dragonborn template to a half-giant? How would that work?
A. I’ll allow dragonborn as it reads on http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/iw/20060105b, you glorious min-maxing bastard. The only thing I can see that may be an issue is the “Mechanics of Rebirth” sidebar that is mentioned but not shown. I’m not 100% clear on what you’d be giving up (if anything). Your size and stat changes would stay, I know that much (as referenced here: http://www.giantitp.com/forums/archive/index.php?t-133585.html). Must research further but I think this would be fine.

Questions and Answers

Rise of the Durnskald Abersade Abersade